UVERworld – PROGLUTION

Well, I should start with the basics. UVERworld is a jrock/jpop band signed to gr8!Records under Sony. The name ‘UVERworld’ is a mix of ‘uber’ and ‘over’, and means ‘crossing over their own world’. D-Tecnolife is pretty much the band’s breakout hit since it was featured in the popular Bleach anime. ‘PROGLUTION’ is a mix of the words ‘progenitor’ and ‘revolution’, and means ‘the one who starts a revolution’. You can see from here that UVERworld’s members enjoy inventing odd English words. Can’t say it’s a bad hobby.

Album: PROGLUTION
Highest Oricon daily ranking: #2
Release date: 16/1/2008

CD only cover:

CD+DVD cover:

Track listing:

1. Roots
2. brand new ancient
3. Ukiyo CROSSING (浮世CROSSING; Ukiyo Crossing)
4. Byouteki Kikyuu Nikki (病的希求日記; Diary of Strange Desires)
5. counting song – H
6. Shaka Beach ~Laka Laka La~ (album ver.) (シャカビーチ~Laka Laka La~)
7. GROOVY GROOVY GROOVY
8. expod -digital
9. -Myousaku Gougai ORCHESTRA- (-妙策号外ORCHESTRA-; Clever Newspaper Pamphlet Scheme)
10. UNKNOWN ORCHESTRA (album ver.)
11. -god’s followers-
12. Kami Atsume (神集め; Collecting Gods)
13. -forecast map 1955-
14. ENERGY (album ver.)
15. endscape (album ver.)
16. Kokoro ga Sasu Basho to Kuchiguse Soshite Kimi ga Tsuite Kuru (心が指す場所と口癖 そして君がついて来る; The Way I Say the Place Where My Heart Points, Then You Come Here)
17. Oto no Ha (オトノハ)
18. to the world (SE)

Track commentary:

1. Roots – Nice, catchy upbeat song. They picked this to film a PV for, so I guess that counts for something. Nothing really outstanding – typical UVER stuff.
3. Ukiyo CROSSING – Theme for drama ‘Hataraki Man’. Seems to be the same as the PV version. I like this song, it’s unique in terms of structure.
4. Byouteki Kikyuu Nikki – I will admit that the chorus of this song rings in my head at rather inappropriate times. Is that a good thing or a bad thing?
6. Shaka Beach ~Laka Laka La~ (album ver.) – Without a doubt, my favorite track on this album. I’m still thanking them for re-recording this. I loved the single version, but I admit it was badly put together. It was rather messy, and the vocals sounded strained. This version is a lot more relaxed, and they altered the intro. The new one is love. ❤
7. GROOVY GROOVY GROOVY – Yeah. See title.
8. expod -digital – The intro of this song made me think of miyavi. That sort of acoustic guitar rock feel. I like it.
10. UNKNOWN ORCHESTRA (album ver.) – It was the third track on one of the singles – can’t remember which. I didn’t like that version, but this one makes me want to hum along, so that’s a big improvement. Rather catchy now, if you ask me. A nice beat.
14. ENERGY (album ver.) – The ‘our voices mix’ sucked. This one is pretty decent. Not one of my favorites, but it’s okay. Could be better.
15. endscape (album ver.) – Not that much different from the single version – the opening bars have been changed, but I can’t tell much else of a difference without actively looknig for one. I like this song, though. The PV is made of all sorts of cool.
16. Kokoro ga Sasu Basho… – If you think I’m typing the entire title, you’re nuts. It’s a nice laidback song, though. I like it!

Overall:

It’s not quite standard UVERworld here. They’re exploring a bit with more acoustic guitar and synthesizer sounds. I, for one, like the direction they’re going in. All the ‘album versions’ they have – I like them better than the single versions too, which is always good. 😀 All in all, a good all-rounder album from UVERworld – and I still say they’re a band to look out for.

Extra: The CD+DVD version seems a pretty good deal too. Here’s the DVD tracklist:

1. Zero no Kotae (ゼロの答; Zero Answer) (PV)
2. endscape (PV)
3. Shaka Beach ~Laka Laka La~ (シャカビーチ~Laka Laka La~) (PV)
4. Ukiyo CROSSING (浮世CROSSING; Ukiyo Crossing) (PV)
5. Zero no Kotae (making) (ゼロの答; Zero Answer)
6. endscape (making)
7. Shaka Beach ~Laka Laka La~ (making) (シャカビーチ~Laka Laka La~)
8. Ukiyo CROSSING (making) (浮世CROSSING; Ukiyo Crossing)

I have the original PVs, but not the ‘making of’s. If you want them, ask and ye shall receive.

Download: UVERworld – PROGLUTION.zip [SendSpace][151MB]

~ by parukuma on January 20, 2008.

Leave a comment